Free E-Book Alert – Puff or Pass: Should Christians Smoke Pot or Not? by Mark Driscoll

Today’s free e-book covers a very controversial issue, should Christians smoke marijuana?  Mark Driscoll is the pastor of Mars Hill Church out in Seattle and has a unique ministry attracting young people that may never enter a more traditional church.  So, as more states legalize pot to some degree, this will be an issue the church will be forced to deal with.

From the introduction:

I have smoked pot as many times as I have been pregnant. I grew up next to the Sea-Tac airport before the area was incorporated as a city. Practically, this meant there was no local law enforcement. Drug deals took place openly and frequently on Pacific Highway South, which was also legendary for brazen prostitution. I grew up in a home where my then-Catholic parents warned my four siblings and me about drug use. I had many friends who ranged from recreational drug users to addicts. I saw drugs used in front of me numerous times. I even buried one friend who overdosed as a teen. However, by God’s grace, I have never touched any drug of any kind, including marijuana. I have never even taken a puff of a cigarette, though I did try one Cuban cigar over a decade ago while in the Bahamas. That’s the sum total of my entire life’s smoking experience.

Simply put, my view of recreational marijuana use is not motivated by guilt from my past or present, nor do I have any desire to partake in the future. I have never smoked weed, I will never smoke weed, and I will strongly urge our five children to never smoke weed. As a pastor, I would never encourage anyone to smoke weed recreationally. (Medicinal use is another matter, which we’ll deal with later in this article.)

Download the book pdf here.

Leave a Reply

